7 Cherokee Proverbs a Prayer & Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Always remember that a smile is something sacred, to be shared.
  2. Don’t let yesterday use up too much of today.
  3. Have a vision not clouded by fear.
  4. Listen with your heart. Learn from your experiences, and always be open to new ones.
  5. Pay attention to the whispers, so we won’t have to listen to the screams.
  6. The Soul would have no Rainbow if the eyes had no tears.
  7. When you were born, you cried and the world rejoiced. Live your life so that when you die, the world cries and you rejoice.

Wow where can I even begin.

As hard and difficult these past 6 months of our lives have been

there have been oh so many blessings

that quickly followed.

#5 proverb I wish I had listened the day prior

to our trip to Bozeman I had those

soft whispers given I ignored

I can go the shoulda woulda couldas until

I am blue in the face but what is done is done

We have many friends that have been there

for us these past LONG several months

I keep pushing forward believing there is an end coming

to this very long chapter in our lives.

I don’t know how much more I can handle as I am nearing

and verging on tears and I am afraid to let them

out as I am not sure I can stop them

To stop and think my husband was days or weeks from his death

to think we rolled our truck and survived

w/o any serious injuries between 5 people and 2 dogs

I realize just how luck and faith has been on our side

but what exactly are we to be learning that life isn’t easy

…really??

really…

we know this!  Really we do…Maybe it was to learn that

it is ok to let others help

maybe it was to stop and smell the flowers

yeah I just don’t know the point of all this back to back

on little income

looking at the upcoming holidays and know

WE can’t give our kids what they deserve after these

past several months

BUT apparently at some point along the way

we did something right as they

are grateful for whatever is received

and it doesn’t matter to them what they may or

may not get, but is that really fair

as a mother I am hurt knowing the holidays look rather

bleak this year, but I get thru knowing every

photo I take it puts a smile in someone elses’ heart

something they didn’t have to pay a fortune for

esp during these hard economic times.

To all our friends I can’t even begin to start on where

to thank each and everyone of you personally

Know should you ever need anything we will be there

kinda like that song you find out who your friends are

and I guess I just didn’t realize how many we had.

So I am THANKFUL that my husband is still with me to celebrate this year

that he gets to see our daughter turn 16 in less than 2 weeks

I am thankful for friends that have crossed paths with

thankful for strangers that showed great generosity w/o question or 2nd thought

thankful for oh so many things and some so small

that it seems petty but they are huge to me

I would really be thankful to be able to afford

to go and get my hair done…something I haven’t

done in 8 months!!

I am not one that goes often anyhow but it has

been something twice a year the girls and I try

to have a girls day at the hair dressers for mom/daughter time.

I am thankful for a skill in taking photos that I can make a little

money at to help out during this time

so that I may still be available to be with my husband

and not calling in to a job

that may not be so understanding.

I am thankful for

LIFE, FAITH and FRIENDS

w/o all I would be lost

 

Native American -Cherokee Prayer Blessing -I love this prayer-

Keep us, O God, from pettiness;

let us be large in thought, in word, in deed.

Let us be done with faultfinding and leave off self-seeking.

May we put away all pretenses and meet each other, face to face,

without self-pity and without prejudice.
May we never be hasty in judgment and always generous.

Let us take time for all things;

make us to grow calm, serene, gentle.

Teach us to put in action our better impulses-straightforward and unafraid.

Grant that we may realize it is the little things of life that create difficulties;

that in the big things of life we are as one.

Oh, Lord, let us not forget to be kind.

Leave a Reply

